Municipal Councils of Guyana

  • Government

The municipalities operate under the Municipal and District Councils Act (Chapter 28:01). The provision allows for a Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors. It also states that the Town Clerk is the Administrator. Each Council has the responsibility for solid waste collection and disposal, maintenance of infrastructure services (roads, bridges, etc.), market facilities, and child welfare services among others.

The Municipalities receive an annual subvention from the Ministry of Local Government & Regional Development. This is in accordance to budgetary allocations approved by Parliament and meant to execute developmental works. However, the collection of rates and taxes are the main source of revenue for these councils.

Sectorial topic
descriptionGoverning Body