National Comission for an Open State of Costa Rica

  • Government
  • Civil society
  • Private sector
  • Academic Sector
Costa Rica

The Commission, initially called the National Commission for an Open Government, was created by Executive Decree No. 38994 of April 29, 2015. By Executive Decree 43525-MP-H-MICITT-MIDEPLAN-MJP-MC the Commission was renamed the National Commission for an Open State. It is in charge of promoting transparency and access to information, citizen participation, collaborative work and the use of information and communication technologies in the Public Administration.


It is made up of high-level representatives from the public sector, civil society organizations, the private sector and academia:


1. The Minister of Communication or the person designated for this purpose, who will preside over the Commission and will coordinate the National Open State Commission.


2. The Minister of Science, Technology and Telecommunications or the person designated for that purpose.


3. The Minister of National Planning and Economic Policy or the person designated for that purpose.


4. The Minister of Finance or the person designated for that purpose.


5. The Minister of Justice and Peace or the person designated for that purpose.


6. Three members of Civil Society, appointed according to the procedure defined in article 7.


7. Two representatives of the private sector appointed by the Costa Rican Union of Chambers and Associations of the Private Business Sector (UCCAEP).


8. A person representing the academia, appointed by the National Council of Rectors (CONARE).


9. A representative of the Judiciary, appointed by the Presidency of the Supreme Court of Justice.


10. A person representing the Legislative Branch, appointed by the Board of Directors of the Legislative Assembly of the Republic of Costa Rica

Sectorial topic