Interministerial Open Government Committee (CIGA) of Brasil

  • Government
  • Civil society
  • Academic Sector

The Committee was established by Decree No. 10.160/2019. Its responsible for developing the open government strategy and for guiding the implementation and preparations of Action Plans. The Committee is composed of 13 ministries and is coordinated by the Comptroller General of the Union.


The Committee has the following attributions:

1. Propose measures for the development and implementation of the open government strategy within the scope of the federal Executive Branch;

2. Promote culture and knowledge about open government among civil servants of the federal public administration;

3. Propose priority actions to be implemented through national action plans on open government

4. Promote the intragovernmental articulation necessary for the execution of joint actions, the exchange of experiences, the transfer of technology and training, within the scope of national action plans on open government;

5. Identify necessary research and development actions within the framework of national action plans on open government;

6. Guide the preparation, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of national action plans on open government;

7. Approve proposals for national action plans on open government and promote intragovernmental coordination for their implementation and execution;

8. Identify the necessary means for the elaboration, implementation and monitoring of national action plans on open government; and

9. Evaluate the results and propose changes or revisions to national action plans on open government.


Members of the Committee include:

1. Comptroller General of the Union (coordination)

2. Civil House of the Presidency of the Republic

3. Ministry of Justice and Public Security

4. Ministry of Foreign Affairs

5. Ministry of Economy

6. Ministry of Citizenship

7. Ministry of Health

8. Ministry of Science, Technology, Innovations and Communications

9. Ministry of the Enviroment

10. Ministry of Regional Development

11. Ministry of Women, Family and Human Rights

12. General Secretariat of the Presidency of the Republic


Working group with Civil Society:

The Working Group for Advice on Open Government was established by the Interministerial Committee on Open Government in 2015, to ensure horizontal collaboration between civil society and government entities in the design of strategies and in decision-making for the formulation of instruments, policies and guidelines related to open government.


Representatives of different segments or social representations are elected to compose the Working Group.

The three selected society entities are the following:

1. Brazilian Institute of Certification and Monitoring (IBRACEM)

2. Political and Socio-Environmental Observatory Institute

3. Open Knowledge Brazil